Jump to main content
IndustriALL logotype

Call for nominations for the Arthur Svensson prize

3 November, 2015The prestigious annual Arthur Svensson International Prize for Trade Union Rights invites trade unions from all corners of the world to submit their nominations for 2016.

The prize was established by IndustriALL Global Union’s Norwegian affiliate Industri Energi in honour of Arthur Svensson (1930-2008), one of the most prominent leaders of the Norwegian trade union movement, who had a profound effect on society by creating better conditions for Norwegian workers.

The winner will be awarded the prize in Oslo, Norway in June 2016.

Trade unions must submit their nominations by 31 December 2015. The organizers will consider a person or an organization that has specifically worked in the field of promoting trade union rights and/or strengthening trade union organization.

The submitters must define clearly who nominates the candidate and provide arguments supporting their nominations. There should be also an explanation of how the nominated candidate is linked to the submitting organization. The nominations can be done in Norwegian, English, French or Spanish.

Nominations should be sent to committee secretary Espen Løken (Industri Energi) via e-mail: [email protected], or via the online nomination form on the Arthur Svensson Prize website at http://www.svenssonprize.com/nomination/ .

Last year Arthur Svensson Prize was awarded to leaders of the Bahrain Teachers Association (BTA) Mahdi Abu Dheeb and deputy Jalila al-Salman, who were imprisoned in 2011, tortured and humiliated because they encouraged strikes among teachers.

Winners from previous years are Napoleón Gómez Urrutia, General Secretary of Los Mineros, the National Miners' and Metalworkers' Union of Mexico (2014); Russian union leader Valentin Urusov (2013); Coalition of Cambodian Apparel Workers Democratic Union (2012); Shaer Sae'd, leader of Palestinian General Federation of Trade Unions (2011); and Wellington Chibebe, leader of Zimbabwe Congress of Trade Unions (2010).

For further information visit www.svenssonprize.com